This Land of Ours
View the stunning new promotional video for Cory's debut release on the EMI label - 'This Land of Ours'

'This Land of Ours' will be released later this month following a launch at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium. The CD featuring the music of Karl Jenkins has already attracted huge media attention is set to be one of the most significant brass band releases of this millennium. [double click on 'play' button to view]

Cory were first formed in 1884. The Band, whose core of 25 members spans three generations, are widely regarded as the best of British in the highly competitive world of brass band music. They have been Champions of Wales for the past six years in a row, have won the British Open Championship three times this millennium (including 2007), have twice topped the world rankings in the past six years, and have been in the world's top three for the entire past seven years.

With The Cory Band releasing their debut album 'This Land Of Ours' they will be making history for a second time. Back in 1923 they were the first brass band to be broadcast on the radio. Some 84 years later they will be the first to release an album on EMI.

For their EMI debut, The Cory Band have teamed up with Britain's most successful living composer, fellow Welshman Karl Jenkins, and Cardiff male voice choir Cantorium - the male half of mixed choir Serendipity, previously known as Only Men Allowed. Tracks on the album 'This Land Of Ours' are all special arrangements by Karl Jenkins and range from classical favourites and choral classics to traditional Welsh tunes and pop standards – all performed in that unique brass band style.

Of the music, Karl Jenkins writes:

"The idea came to me earlier in the year to record an album that reflected two important facets of traditional Welsh “popular" culture, the male voice choir and the brass band, brought together for the first time on a major record release. Male voice choirs and brass bands have been synonymous with our country since the industrial revolution and although this is true of many mining communities, particularly in the north of England, the male choir has a particular resonance in Wales.

It was clear that I had to employ the best possible practitioners in these disciplines to make this project memorable and the choice of both band and choir was easy.

It was crucial to have a choir that, while retaining the raw emotion of the traditional Welsh male choir, also possessed superb musicianship and reading ability, in the musical sense, which enabled me to explore more adventurous harmonies and sounds than is perhaps the norm within this genre, with the choral harmonies sometimes consisting of as many as eight separate parts when often two, or even one, is the norm.

I’ve known Tim Rhys Evans [and his two choirs, the mixed choir Serendipity and Only Men Aloud, his male voice choir] for a few years. Tim is a brilliant choral director and trainer and indeed undertook that role on my Requiem recording. His male choir has now metamorphosed into Cantorion. Comprising young, vibrant voices with the aforementioned skills although only sixteen in number, they produce an enormous sound, made even bigger by a particular recording technique of mine that shall remain secret!

I can say no more about the Cory band than that they are simply the best in the world, an extravagant claim maybe, but endorsed by the fact that soon after this recording was made in September 2007, they went on to win, under their musical director Dr. Robert Childs, the British Open Championship, ahead of such luminaries as the Black Dyke Mills & Grimethorpe Colliery bands. At this point in time, they are officially ranked No 1 in the world!

On a personal level I first met the band through David Childs [Robert’s son] the great euphonium virtuoso [former winner of the BBC Young Musician Brass Finals] who plays all the euphonium solos here, even performing a duet with himself on Flower Duet.

Other pieces include classical favourites, Welsh folk songs and hymns and some well known pieces of mine while others, although not intrinsically Welsh, are favourites in the Principality.

Two of the pieces have new text, in Welsh, by the outstanding Welsh poet Grahame Davies. These are reworkings of the Largo from Dvorak’s “New World Symphony" as Cysgu Di [Go To Sleep] and of my Adiemus Cantilena:Ysbrid Y Mynyddoedd [Spirit of the Mountains] that was the soundtrack to the C&G ‘Diver’ commercial."

Here's the track list:

1. Cantilena Ysbryd Y Mynyddoedd (Spirit Of The Mountains)-Jenkins
2. Cysgu Di (Going Home)-Dvorak/Jenkins
3. Delilah-Reed/Mason/Jenkins
4. Abide With Me-Trad/Jenkins
5. Suo Gan-Trad/Jenkins
6. Danny Boy-Trad/Jenkins
7. Son Of Maria-Jenkins
8. Pie Jesu (From Requiem)-Jenkins
9. Hyfrydol-Rowland Huw Prichard/Jenkins
10. Evening Prayer-Humperdinck/Jenkins
11. In These Stones Horizons Sing-Jenkins
12. Flower Duet-Delibes/Jenkins
13. Myfanwy-Parry/Jenkins
14. Agnus Dei (From The Armed Man)-Jenkins
15. Benedictus (From The Armed Man)-Jenkins
16. Where Eagles Sing-Lovatt-Cooper

Conductors: Karl Jenkins, Robert Childs & Tim Rhys Evans
Euphonium Soloist: David Childs

To hear tracks 1,3,9 & 13 on-line copy the following into your address bar:

Pre-order your copy of 'This Land of Ours' now! Copy the following into your address bar:
08 Oct 2007